Categories FeaturedNews

Nov. 5 Election Has Many Local Offices at Stake

A general election is coming up on Tuesday, Nov. 5, with school boards, judges and municipal officials up for election.

One of the biggest local races is the campaign for magisterial district judge in Elizabethtown Borough, Mount Joy Township, West Donegal Township and Conoy Township. Republicans have nominated attorney Randall L. Miller, who lives in Mount Joy Township and practices law in Lancaster. (He is not to be confused with attorney Randall K. Miller, who practices law from an office on South Market Street in Elizabethtown and is not running for any public office.) Democrats have nominated attorney Dan Stephenson, a partner in the law firm VanOrmer & Stephenson, which has offices in Elizabethtown and Lancaster.

Miller and Stephenson are vying to be the successor to Magisterial District Judge Jayne F. Duncan, who resigned in April of 2018. Since then, Mount Joy Magisterial District Judge Scott E. Albert has been pulling double duty, handling cases from both the Elizabethtown and Mount Joy courts’ jurisdictions.

Another hotly contested race is for school board in the Elizabethtown Area School District. Four incumbent board members were nominated by both major parties and are virtually guaranteed re-election: Karen Sweigart, Caroline Lalvani, Terry L. Seiders and Craig M. Hummer. Incumbent Michael Martin was nominated for re-election only by the Republicans; challenger Kristy Moore was nominated only by the Democrats.

In the Donegal School District, the general election has five Republican nominees who are uncontested: Debra L. Sturgis, Timothy G. Markovits, Oliver C. Overlander III, Robert J. Spayde and Ron Melleby.

There are several contested races for municipal office. For Elizabethtown Borough Council, Second Ward voters (those who vote at the borough office) have a choice between Republican incumbent Jeff McCloud and Democratic challenger John Auker-Endres. Third Ward voters (those who vote at the fire station) have a choice between Republican incumbent Phillip P. Clark and Democratic challenger Deb Jones. In the First Ward (where votes are cast behind the Lutheran church), Republican incumbent Tom Shaud is unopposed.

For Marietta Borough Council, five people are seeking the four seats up for election. Incumbent Jeffery Marsh has the nomination of both the Democratic and Republican parties. Incumbents Freddy States and Bill Dalzell were nominated by the Democrats; challengers Frederick O. Gabriel II and Rebecca Caroll- Baltozer were nominated by the Republicans. Marietta elects its Borough Council at-large, so all the borough’s voters get to pick which four of the candidates they like best.

In East Donegal Township, Democratic nominee Abram Campbell is challenging Republican incumbent Allen Esbenshade for township supervisor. In West Donegal Township, three people are competing for two township supervisor seats: Democratic nominee Katie Burnett is seeking to join the board; incumbent Republicans Roger Snyder and Douglas Hottenstein are trying to win reelection. In Conoy Township, Republican incumbent John L. Shearer has no opponent on the ballot for township supervisor, but there is an effort by write-in candidate Justin Risser to oust him.

In countywide races, Republican District Attorney Craig W. Stedman and Democratic lawyer Gregory Paulson are vying for judge of the Court of Common Pleas. Republican Heather L. Adams and Democrat Hobie Crystle are running for district attorney. Republican Andrew E. Spade and Democrat Dan Phillips are running for prothonotary. Other countywide offices are uncontested.

About the author