Categories CommunityFeaturedNews

Mount Joy Rotary Announces Co-Presidents for 2019-20 Year

The Rotary Club of Mount Joy has announced its copresidents for the club year, which runs from July 1, 2019, to June 30, 2020. President Mark Rorabaugh and President Greg Sallade will chair the Tuesday lunch meetings at the Gathering Place in Mount Joy. Dave Christian and Gary Ebersole will lead Thursday’s meeting at Bube’s Brewery. Decisions which affect the entire club will be shared.

Also announced at the lunch meeting on Tuesday, July 2, were the future club leaders: President-Elect Randy Wolgemuth, First Vice President Leonard Nolt and Christopher Silvestri, Second- Vice President. Special recognition was also given to new Paul Harris Fellow Joel Hughes and to Lowell Fry who received his fourth Paul Harris pin. A Paul Harris fellow is someone who has donated at least $1,000 to the Rotary International Foundation; the award is named for Rotary International founder Paul Harris.

The theme for the upcoming year is Rotary Connects the World. The club’s many activities and charitable donations will reflect that motto. Activities include several fundraisers at which the Rotary Fry wagon will be present, the Whittel Farm harvest project, the REYS Backpack project, and the second annual Pints for Polio week.

The week of Sept. 10-15 the Mount Joy club will focus on suicide prevention. The Tuesday and Thursday meetings will have awareness programs and will be open to the public, (normal meal and beverage charges will apply). Other activities will include a panel forum and vigil at the Milanof-Schock Library on Wednesday evening, Sept. 11, and an awareness walk of just under two miles on Saturday, Sept. 15, beginning at Rotary Park in Mount Joy.

Anyone who wants more information about the Rotary Club or its activities and projects may contact Greg Sallade at 717-648-0510.

About the author