Categories FeaturedNews

Mount Joy Borough Fills Vacancies, OKs Budget

Acting Mount Joy Borough Council President Brian Youngerman presided over the election of a replacement council member, a new president and a vice president at the latest borough meeting.

At the meeting on Monday, Dec. 3, David F. Eicher of 159 Longenecker Road was elected East Ward representative to serveone year of the remaining term of Charles Glessner, who resigned. William Hall was elected president and Youngerman as vicepresident. Luann Fahndrich replaces Hall as chair of the Public Safety Committee. Councilor Jake Smeltz resigned as a result of being named chief of staff to Bryan Cutler, new majority leader of the Pennsylvania House of Representatives.

Borough Manager Samuel Sulkosky was appointed as borough treasurer over Hall’s objection; Hall was outvoted by all the other council members.

Also at the meeting, councilors approved a balanced 2019 General Fund budget of $4,608,963, a 7 percent increase over 2018. Real estate tax will remain at the 2018 level of 3.754 mills. Youngerman expressed concern that the budget does not address the borough’s growing financial liability to provide postemployment health benefits for police, currently at $4.1 million.

Also, Darrell Becker of ARRO Consulting reported on the failure of discharge basins and conduits to control flooding in the vicinity of Gus’ Keystone Restaurant, 1050 W. Main St. and the Schatz property on 1090 W. Main St. Amtrak has also been asked to investigate railroad culverts which may be dysfunctional. Council referred the matter to the Public Works Committee.

About the author