Categories CommunityFeaturedNews

Elizabeth Hughes Society Grants Annual ‘Women for Women’ Scholarship

The Elizabeth Hughes Society has awarded its annual Women for Women scholarship to Valerie Belmont.

Belmont has been a resident of Elizabethtown for the past 22 years. She and her husband have five children. The entire family has participated in many Elizabethtown community activities. Belmont has volunteered for Girls Confidence Conference, Arm of Hope fundraiser, Elizabethtown Community Housing and Outreach Services, assisted in settling refugees from the Congo and Kenya to Elizabethtown, lectured on healthcare to visiting Chinese students.

Belmont currently is employed as a nurse at UPMC Pinnacle in Lititz. She is pursuing a master of science in nursing degree at Cedarville University School of Nursing in the Family Nurse Practitioner program in Cedarville, Ohio.

The Women for Women scholarship was established in memory of the late Elizabeth Hughes member Esther Winters. The society learned that Winters returned to school as an adult to become a pharmacist. Thus the group established a Women for Women Scholarship to provide assistance or encouragement for eligible women to return to school for a degree, to obtain or renew a license, or to become certified in an occupation. The scholarship was established because society members believe this is an area where need often exists but where help is often very limited. The Elizabeth Hughes Society does award an annual scholarship to a graduating senior at Elizabethtown Area High School also.

This year, five women completed the application process. Scholarship chairwoman, Marilyn Muston, noted that most applicants were married with children, and that they were pursuing careers in a variety of fields including Nursing. Masters of Busi- ness Administration, Certified Peer Specialty Training, Spiritual Direction Training, and social work. A committee reviewed the applications, which included letters of recommendation and an essay by the applicant. The committee members; Ann Fetter, Carol Hunter, Donna Young, Sandi Bush and Elizabeth Hughes Society President, Amy Carroll, selected Valerie as the 2019 recipient.

“All of the applicants were very worthy and faced many obstacles of reaching their educational goals. They were all very deserving. but we had to select one award winner,” Muston said.

The society awards a scholarship every year. Information will be available for next year’s scholarship in April 2020.

About the author