Categories Elizabethtown Area School DistrictFeaturedNewsSchoolSchool Events

EAHS Inducts 57 Students Into Its National Honor Society Chapter

Elizabethtown Area High School inducted 57 students into its T.H. Ebersole Chapter of the National Honor Society at a special ceremony held Wednesday, March 6. Membership in the National Honor Society is one of the highest honors that can be awarded to a high school student. It recognizes the outstanding students of Elizabethtown Area High School who have exhibited the four pillars of scholarship, character, leadership and service.

The student-lead ceremony recognized the students’ selection into the prestigious organization in front of family and friends. Theresa Swenson, National Honor Society adviser; Benjamin Will, high school English teacher; and Maura Hobson, high school principal, offered congratulatory remarks.

This year’s inductees were Kayla Azaroff, Erin Barton, Samuel Becker, Amber Bostdorf, Scott Bucher, Emily Burkholder, Hayden Calaman, Haylee Calaman, Vicky Chan, Anna DeGoede, Abigail Dehmey, Camille Donahue, Ashley Driesbach, Lauren Duffitt, Catherine Duncan, Elijah Eberly, Adam Evans, Claire Fritz, Jasmine Garcia, Adaline Gish, David Gladfelter, Rachel Handshew, Liam Hanley, Michael Hensel, Alicia Hoover, Kadey Kreider, Jacob Larison, Ethan Lown, Tristan Mabee, Lauren Masser, Aileen McElhenny, Kristen McEvoy, Leighann Melvin, Sierra Miller, Lydia Moynihan, Emma Musser, Jesse Myers, Madelyn Nagel, James Overmoyer, Joshua Phillips, Madison Rae, Julia Raybold, Madison Rhodes, Megan Rider, Dustin Sauder, Ellen Schlosser, Jacob Sevcik, Kaelynn Sheetz, Olivia Shuck, Joseph Sikora, Alicia Underkoffler, Malayna Van Winkle, Anna Wagner, Aiden Weaver, Katelyn Weissand, Winston Williams, and Benjamin Wohlbowne.

Character is what distinguishes one individual from another. It is the product of constant striving to make the right choices day after day. Students with good character demonstrate respect, responsibility, trustworthiness, fairness, caring, and citizenship in all of their actions. Scholarship is characterized by a commitment to learning. A student is willing to spend the necessary time to cultivate his or her mind in the quest for knowledge. This pillar can only be achieved through diligence and effort. Scholarship means always doing the best work possible, regardless of impendingreward. Leaders take the initiative to aid others in a wholesome manner throughout their daily activities. Leaders sacrifice their personal interests in order to yield to the needs of others. Leaders need wisdom and self-confidence to affect change in all aspects of their lives. Some examples of leadership can include, but are not limited to, leading group activities in the classroom and in the community, being an officer in a club, being a primary member of the band or choir, or being the captain of a sports team. The pillar of service can be reached in a variety of ways. The willingness to work for the benefit of those in need without compensation or recognition of any kind is a quality that is essential in NHS members. As a service club, the National Honor Society is highly concerned with giving its all to the school and community at large.

In addition to the induction ceremony, four NHS members were nominated to compete for NHS Scholarships. More than $1.5 million in scholarships will be awarded this year to 475 of the nation’s top high school seniors who are members of NHS. The general purpose of the NHS Scholarship program is to highlight the importance of a well-rounded education. Elizabethtown’s nominees are seniors Sean Brown, Cera Connolly, Ryan Minnich, and Grace Murray NHS inductees must have a weighted GPA of 96 percent or higher. They also exemplify the best attributes of character and leadership as well as volunteer in at least two activities as a junior and three as a senior. NHS is one of the nation’s premier organizations established to recognize outstanding high school level students. The National Association of Secondary School Principals established the program in 1921.

NHS officers at Elizabethtown Area High School are Ryan Kruft, president; Cera Connelly, vice president; Jared Wolf, secretary; and Rachel Malari, treasurer.

About the author