Categories FeaturedNews

Candidates File for May Primary


The Elizabethtown Advocate


Now that candidates have filed signatures to run in the May 21 primary election, it is clear that there will be a three-way race for the Republican nomination for magisterial district judge, a two-way race for the Democratic nomination for that office and contested Republican primaries for West Donegal Township supervisor.

Also, in Mount Joy Borough and Marietta Borough, fewer candidates are on the primary election ballot than there are council seats to be filled, making it likely that nominations will be made by write-in votes.

The Rotary Club of Elizabethtown and the Advocate are hosting a magisterial district judge candidates’ forum at 7 p.m. on Thursday, March 28, in the auditorium of Elizabethtown Area High School.

The candidates for magisterial district judge are lawyer Randall L. Miller, who works in Lancaster; lawyer Dan Stephenson, who works in Elizabethtown, and Dauphin County Prison employee Wendy Myers.

Miller (not to be confused with Randall K. Miller, who works in Elizabethtown) is endorsed by the Republican Committee; he did not get enough signatures from Democrats to also appear on the Democratic ballot. Stephenson is endorsed by the Democratic Committee and has gathered enough signatures to appear on both ballots. Myers is running in both primaries against the endorsed candidates. There is no requirement that magisterial district judges be lawyers and many non-lawyers hold the job.

In West Donegal Township, the Republican Committee has endorsed incumbent township supervisors Roger Snyder and Douglas Hottenstein for re-election to six-year terms. An unendorsed candidate, J. Timothy Smith, is also seeking the Republican nomination for a six-year term. Republican voters in the township are instructed to vote for two people; the top two will get the party’s nomination. A Democrat, Katie Burnett, is also seeking a six-year term as township supervisor; she is unopposed for the Democratic nomination and will advance to the general election in November.

There is also a four-year term to be filled for West Donegal Township supervisor. Former township supervisor Ralph Horne has the Republican Committee’s endorsement; unendorsed candidate Richard A. Gibble is also seeking the party’s nomination.

In Mount Joy Borough, David F. Eichler and William A. Hall are unopposed for the two Republican nominations to be made for the East Ward seats on the Borough Council. Nobody is on the Democratic ballot for those seats and nobody is on either major party’s ballot for the West Ward and Florin Ward seats, with one seat to be filled in each ward. Nominations can be made with write-in votes there as long as at least 10 people write in the same name with no spelling variations.

A similar situation exists in Marietta Borough. There are four Borough Council seats to be filled there and only three candidates in the primaries. Democrats Bill Dalzell and Freddy States are running, as is Republican Jeffery Marsh.

In Elizabethtown Borough, three Republicans are seeking re-election to the Borough Council: Tom Shaud (First Ward), Jeff McCloud (Second Ward) and Phillip P. Clark (Third Ward). No Democrats are running.

In Conoy Township, John L. Shearer is on the Republican ballot for township supervisor; no Democrat is running. In East Donegal, Abram Campbell is seeking the Democratic nomination; no Republican is running. In Mount Joy Township, there are two supervisors seats to be filled this year; Lisa Sargen Heilner and Kevin M. Baker are seeking the two Republican nominations and no Democrats are running.

In the Elizabethtown Area and Donegal school districts, there are five school board seats to be filled in each school district. In Elizabethtown, Republicans Michael Martin, Craig M. Hummer, Karen Sweigart, Terry L. Seiders and Caroline Lalvani are running along with Democrat Kristy Moore; all five have cross-filed to appear in both parties’ primaries. In Donegal, Debra L. Sturgis is the only candidate to cross-file; she is to appear alone on the Democratic ballot. Sturgis is to appear on the Republican ballot along with Timothy G. Markovits, Oliver C. Overlander III and Robert J. Spayde.

This article has been corrected to show that there is one Borough Council seat to be filled in the West Ward and the Florin Ward of the Mount Joy Borough Council, not two seats as originally reported. It has also been updated with the location of the magisterial district judge candidates forum. It also has been corrected to show that Donegal school board candidate Debra L. Sturgis has cross-filed and to remove Bryan K. Hower’s name from the list of Donegal candidates. Hower is running for school board in the Eastern Lancaster School District, not Donegal.

About the author