Categories FeaturedNews

Smucker Defeats Beiler in GOP Primary for Congress

Incumbent U.S. Rep. Lloyd Smucker beat back a challenge from Chet Beiler in the Republican primary for representative in Congress for the district that includes Lancaster County and southern York County.

The biggest contested local race was the Republican nomination for Congress in the 11th District. As of 11 p.m. on election night, Smucker had 25,700 votes to Beiler’s 18,544; The Associated Press had declared Smucker the winner. Those figures were with 176 of 242 election districts (73 percent) in Lancaster County reporting results and 69 of 74 districts (93 percent) in York County reporting results.

Smucker goes on to face Jess King, who was unopposed for the Democratic nomination, in the general election. Since the district includes southern York County, it is a deeply conservative area that President Donald Trump swept by a 36-point margin in 2016.

Local primaries for state Legislature were uncontested. Republican state Sen. Ryan P. Aument is seeking reelection in the 38th District, which covers northern Lancaster County; Elizabethtown Borough Council member Bill Troutman is unopposed for the Democratic nomination for that office.

Troutman, who was badly injured in a traffic collision on Feb. 27 and signed paperwork to get on the ballot from a hospital bed, was meeting voters at several polling places on election day. His campaign posted photos online showing him campaigning from a wheelchair.

For representative in the Pennsylvania General Assembly, incumbent David S. Hickernell was unopposed for the Republican nomination in the 98th District. Mary Auker-Endres, who unsuccessfully ran for Elizabethtown Borough Council last year, was unopposed for the Democratic nomination in that race. The district includes Elizabethtown Borough, West Donegal Township, East Donegal Township, Conoy Township, Mount Joy Borough, Marietta Borough, West Hempfield Township and Columbia Borough as well as Londonderry Township, Dauphin County.

Incumbent Mindy Fee was unopposed for the Republican nomination for state representative in the 37th District. Suzanne M. Delahunt of Clay Township, who was unopposed for the Democratic nomination there. The 37th District includes Mount Joy Township, Rapho Township, East Hempfield Township, East Petersburg Borough, Manheim Borough, Penn Township, Elizabeth Township, Clay Township, West Cocalico Township and Denver Borough.

In statewide races, state Sen. Scott Wagner won a three-way race for the Republican nomination for governor; he will face Democratic Gov. Tom Wolf, who was unopposed for re-nomination. U.S. Rep. Lou Barletta won the Republican nomination for U.S. Senate, defeating state legislator Jim Christiana; Barletta will face incumbent Democratic Sen. Bob Casey Jr. in the general election.

Braddock Mayor John Fetterman won a five-way Democratic Party primary race for lieutenant governor, defeating incumbent Lt. Gov. Mike Stack. Suburban Philadelphia real estate investor Jeff Bartos won a four-way Republican primary for lieutenant governor.

About the author